Private IP Address Ranges

The Internet Engineering Task Force (IETF) and Internet Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA)'s reserved the following IP address ranges for private networks, for example enterprise local area networks (LANs), corporate offices, or residential networks.

IPv4 private address ranges (RFC 1918):

  • – (24-bit block)
  • – (20-bit block)
  • – (16-bit block)

IPv6 private address ranges:

  • fc00::/7 address block = RFC 4193 Unique Local Addresses (ULA)
  • fec0::/10 address block = deprecated (RFC 3879)